Mayday Pain Project Logo

News Release - September 1, 2010

For more information, contact:

Dionne Dougall-Bass, 888-969-7446,

Nick Seaver, 301-652-1558,


NEW YORK CITY (August 31, 2010) – The Mayday Fund today announces the selection of six experts in pain management to be Fellows under The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship. The new Fellows hail from across the United States, specializing in a wide range of health care disciplines, including anesthesiology, pediatrics, nursing, emergency medicine, palliative care, and pharmacy. The renewed Fellowship program will extend five years, from 2010-2015 with six fellows chosen each year.

Established in 2003, the Fellowship provides leaders in the pain management field with tools and skills to advocate on behalf of better treatment for pain. Fellows learn how to better communicate to media and policymakers and raise visibility for their issues.

“With increased public and political focus on pain treatment and care issues, particularly in Washington, DC and at the state policy level, there couldn’t be a better time for more experts to be prepared to take leadership on research, training, education and advocacy on behalf of patients in pain,” said Russell K. Portenoy, MD, Chairman of The Mayday Fellowship Advisory Committee, and Chairman of the Department of Pain Medicine and Palliative Care at Beth Israel Medical Center. “We know the newly selected Fellows will bring fresh energy and focus to pain issues that need so much attention.”

The Fellows will develop skills to advocate and communicate on many of the pain issues they deal with everyday, including the under-treatment of pain, pediatric pain, chronic pain, palliative care, the treatment of pain with prescription pain medications, and disparities in pain treatment.

“The Mayday Fund Trustees are proud of the outstanding pain leaders who have participated in the Fellowship program,” said Christina Spellman, Executive Director of The Mayday Fund. “The Fellows have taken seriously their commitment to educate the public, and are effective in adding a human face to the care of pain as they help to build the field.”

The new six fellows for 2010-11 are:

  • Anita Gupta, DO, PharmD, Assistant Professor, Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, University of Pennsylvania
  • Corita R. Grudzen, MD, MSHS, Assistant Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine and Geriatrics and Palliative Care, Mount Sinai School of Medicine
  • Elliot J. Krane, MD, Professor of Anesthesia & Pediatrics, Head of Pediatric Pain Management, Stanford University School of Medicine and the Lucile Packard Children’s Hospital
  • Mary Lynn McPherson, PharmD, BCPS, CPE, Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science, University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
  • Patricia A. Tabloski, PhD, RNC, Associate Dean, Graduate Programs, William F. Connell School of Nursing at Boston College
  • Lynn R. Webster, MD, FACPM, FASAM, Medical Director, Lifetree Clinical Research and Pain Clinic

As part of their training, the new Fellows will attend an intensive four-day workshop in Washington, DC in October 2010, and work closely with Burness Communications, a public relations firm that works solely with non-profit organizations, primarily in health and science. Fellows will learn how to connect with local and national media, write opinion editorials, develop relationships with university public affairs and government relations leaders, and talk with state legislators and Members of Congress. By improving their communications skills, the candidates will be poised to move the field forward by educating and working with the media, policymakers, advocates, health and business leaders, and their own peers.

Established in 1992, The Mayday Fund is dedicated to further Shirley Steinman Katzenbach’s commitment to social and medical causes. Her special interest in the treatment of pain forms the core of the Fund’s mission. Over the last 15 years, Mayday has supported many different projects, among them, surveys of public attitudes toward pain and its treatment, role model and documentation programs, assistance to public and professional advocacy groups, and clinical and academic research.

The Fellowship Advisory Committee selects the six winners each year. On the Advisory Committee for The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship are Chair Russell K. Portenoy, MD; James N. Campbell, MD, Executive-in-Residence at InterWest Partners, CEO of Arcion Therapeutics, Inc. and Professor of Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins University; Scott Fishman, MD, Professor and Chief, Division of Pain Medicine in the Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, University of California, Davis; Kathleen M. Foley, MD, Medical Director of the International Palliative Care Initiative of the Public Health Program, Open Society Institute and Attending Neurologist in the Pain and Palliative Care Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; Sandra H. Johnson, JD, Interim Dean, Saint Louis University School of Law; Patrick John McGrath, PhD, Vice President of Research at IWK Health Centre, Research Services; Joan Teno, MD, MS, Professor of Community Health and Medicine at The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University, Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research; and Lonnie Zeltzer, MD, 2004 Mayday Fellow, Director of Pediatric Pain Program and Professor of Pediatrics, Anesthesiology, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences at the UCLA Pediatric Pain Program.