Mayday Pain Project Logo


For more information, please contact: 
Carol Schadelbauer or Nick Seaver at 
(301) 652-1558


NEW YORK CITY (August 2, 2007) – The Mayday Fund today announces the selection of six experts in pain management to be Fellows under The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship. The new Fellows hail from across the United States and Canada, specializing in a wide range of health care disciplines including emergency medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry and pediatrics.

Established in 2003, the Fellowship provides leaders in the pain management field with tools and skills to advocate on behalf of better treatment for pain. Fellows learn how to better communicate to media and policymakers and raise visibility for their issues.  To date, the program has supported 18 Fellows. The Mayday Fund will fund the Fellowship through 2009.
"It is impressive that there are still so many candidates who are highly qualified and who wish to pursue speaking to the broader public," said Christina Spellman, Executive Director, The Mayday Fund.  "The Mayday Fund Trustees hope that this program will continue to make a difference in creating a cadre of leaders in the pain field committed to public education."

The six Fellows for 2007-08 are:

Elizabeth Ely, RN, Ph.D. is the coordinator of Nursing Research and Practice at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia; Mary Elizabeth Lynch, M.D. is a Professor of Psychiatry, Anesthesia, and Pharmacology at Dalhousie University and Director of the Pain Management Unit at the Queen Elizabeth II Health Sciences Centre and Capital District Health Authority in Halifax, Nova Scotia; Edward Michna, M.D., J.D. is a Clinical Instructor in Anesthesia at the Harvard Medical School and Director of the Pain Trials at Brigham and Women’s Hospital; Anne Louise Oaklander, M.D., Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Neurology at Harvard Medical School and a member of the Neurology and Pathology Departments at Massachusetts General Hospital; Paula Tanabe, RN, Ph.D. is a Research Assistant Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine and the Institute for Health Care Studies in the Feinberg School of Medicine at Northwestern University; Jennie Ching-I Tsao, Ph.D. is an Associate Professor of Pediatrics in the UCLA Pediatric Pain Program at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA.

“The caliber of candidates for this Fellowship continues to amaze us, and we wish we could have awarded a Fellowship to so many more,” said Russell Portenoy, M.D., Chairman of the Mayday Fellowship Advisory Committee, and Chairman of the Department of Pain Medicine and Palliative Care at Beth Israel Medical Center. “The eighteen Fellows who have been through the program to date are emerging as leaders in pain management,” he said.  “They bring new energy and focus to pain issues that need so much attention.  We know the six new Fellows will expand the effort.”

As part of their training, the new Fellows will attend an intensive four-day workshop in Washington, D.C. in October 2007, and work closely with Burness Communications, a public relations firm that works solely with non-profit organizations.  Fellows will learn how to connect with local and national media, write opinion editorials, develop relationships with university public affairs and government relations leaders, and talk with state legislators and Members of Congress. By improving their communications skills, the candidates will be poised to move the field forward by educating and working with the media, policymakers, advocates, and health and business leaders.

The Fellows will develop skills to advocate and communicate on many of the pain issues they deal with everyday including the under-treatment of pain, pediatric pain, chronic pain, palliative care, the treatment of pain with prescription pain medications, and disparities in pain treatment.

Applications will be accepted for the fifth year (2008-2009) of the Mayday Fellowship in early 2008.  Six more applicants will be chosen. For more informaton, visit

Established in 1992, the Mayday Fund is dedicated to further Shirley Steinman Katzenbach’s commitment to social and medical causes. Her special interest in the treatment of pain forms the core of the Fund’s mission. Over the last ten years, Mayday has supported many different projects, among them, surveys of public attitudes to pain and its treatment, role model and documentation programs, assistance to public and professional advocacy groups, and clinical and academic research.

The Fellowship Advisory Committee selects the six winners each year. On the Advisory Committee for the Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship are Chair Russell K. Portenoy, M.D.; James Campbell, M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery and Vice Chairman of the Department at Johns Hopkins Hospital; Scott Fishman, M.D., Professor of Anesthesiology and Director, Division of Pain Medicine at the University of California, Davis; Kathleen M. Foley, M.D., Chief of the Pain Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; David E. Joranson, MSSW, Senior Scientist and Director of the Pain and Policy Studies Group at the University of Wisconsin Medical School; Patrick John McGrath, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, Psychiatry and Pediatrics, Dalhousie University Medical School; Joan Teno, M.D., M.S., Professor of Community Health and Medicine, and Associate Director of the Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research at the Brown Medical School; and Lonnie Zeltzer, M.D., 2004 Mayday Fellow, Professor Pediatrics, Anesthesiology, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, Director of the Pediatric Pain Program at UCLA’s Mattel Children’s Hospital, and Associate Director of the Patients and Survivors Program at the UCLA Jonsson Cancer Center.