Mayday Pain Project Logo
The first six Mayday Pain & Society Fellows visit Capitol Hill as part of
their four day briefing on media and policy in September 2004.

First Six Mayday Pain & Society Fellows

Bottom row from left: Carmen Green, Celeste Johnston, Lonnie Zeltzer
Top row from left: Jerry Kurent, Allen Lebovits, Pat Coyne

News Release - July 12, 2004

Six Fellows Poised to Become Leaders and Advocates for Change in the Pain Field

New York City, (July 12, 2004) The Mayday Fund announces six winners for the first year of The Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship. The new Fellows hail from around the United States and Canada, and are established experts in a wide range of pain management disciplines, including palliative care, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, and pediatric pain care.

The three-year Fellowship was established by The Mayday Fund to provide new leaders in the pain management field with tools that will enable them to reach the broader public.

The six Fellows for 2004 - 2005 are: Patrick Coyne, R.N., Clinical Nurse Specialist and Clinical Director of the Thomas Palliative Care Unit at the Medical College of Virginia Hospitals/Virginia Commonwealth Health Systems; Carmen R. Green, M.D., Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Medical Director for Acute Pain Services at the University of Michigan Medical School; Celeste Johnston, R.N., James McGill Professor in the School of Nursing at McGill University, Quebec; Jerome Kurent, M.D., Associate Professor of Medicine & Neurology at Medical University of South Carolina; Allen Lebovits, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Anesthesiology and Psychiatry, and Co-Director of the Pain Management Center at the New York University Medical Center; and Lonnie Zeltzer, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics, Anesthesiology, and Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, and Director of the Pediatric Pain Program at the David Geffen School of Medicine at University of California at Los Angeles.

"There was an exceptional candidate pool for the inaugural year, and we were really delighted to see so much enthusiasm for the program from some of the best and brightest in the pain management field," said Russell Portenoy, M.D., Chairman of the Mayday Fellowship Advisory Committee, and Chairman of the Department of Pain Medicine and Palliative Care at Beth Israel Medical Center. "We hope this program will begin to build a community of pain experts who can bring accurate information to the public and policymakers." The Fellows will attend an intensive four-day workshop in Washington, D.C. in September 2004, and work closely with a communications firm for five months afterwards to learn how to connect with local and national media, write opinion editorials, develop relationships with university public affairs and government relations leadership, and talk with state legislators and Members of Congress. Developing their communications skills, the candidates will be poised to move the field forward with their willingness to educate and work with the media, policymakers, advocates, and health and business leaders.

The Fellows will develop skills to advocate and communicate on many of the pain issues they deal with everyday including the undertreatment of pain, pediatric pain, chronic pain, palliative care, the treatment of pain with prescription pain medications, alternative treatments for pain, and disparities in pain treatment.
Applications will be accepted for the second year (2005-2006) of the Mayday Fellowship in early 2005. Six more applicants will be chosen. For more information visit

Established in 1992, the Mayday Fund is dedicated to further Shirley Steinman Katzenbachís commitment to social and medical causes. Her special interest in the treatment of pain forms the core of the Fundís mission. Over the last ten years, Mayday has supported many different projects, among them, surveys of public attitudes to pain and its treatment, role model and documentation programs, assistance to public and professional advocacy groups, and clinical and academic research.

On the Advisory Committee for the Mayday Pain & Society Fellowship are Chair Russell K. Portenoy, M.D.; James Campbell, M.D., Professor of Neurosurgery and Vice Chairman of the Department at Johns Hopkins Hospital; Scott Fishman, M.D., Professor of Anesthesiology and Director, Division of Pain Medicine at the University of California, Davis; Kathleen M. Foley, M.D., Chief of the Pain Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center; David E. Joranson, MSSW, Senior Scientist and Director of the Pain and Policy Studies Group at the University of Wisconsin Medical School; Patrick John McGrath, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology, Psychiatry and Pediatrics, Dalhousie University Medical School; Richard Payne, M.D., Director, Duke Institute on Care at the End of Life, Duke University; and Joan Teno, M.D., M.S., Professor of Community Health and Medicine, and Associate Director of the Center for Gerontology and Health Care Research at the Brown Medical School.